Terry Pratchett's

Only You Can Save



Book and Lyrics by Shaun McKenna

Music by Leighton James House

Based on the novel by Terry Pratchett


Produced by Sarah Broadhurst for Broadhouse Productions


Johnny Maxwell is an unhappy teenage boy whose parents are breaking up.  He takes refuge in computer games - but, to his horror, cyberspace and reality collide when the Crocodile-like Captain of the Scree Wee ship starts talking to him, suing for peace and an escort home.


Johnny and his friends - together with the feisty fellow-player Kirsty - have to find a way to stop the world being destroyed by the rebellious Gunnery Officer and lead the Scree Wee home to their own planet.


Edinburgh 2004


The first professional production was at the Pleasance, Edinburgh during the 2004 Edinburgh festival.  It was directed by Christian Durham, with Musical Staging by Dawn Buckland, Musical Supervision and Arrangements by John Rigby and Musical Director Laurie Perkins.


The cast included Bennett Andrews, Tim Frater, Jonathan Glew, Ashleigh Gray, Richard Hartley, Ben Heathcote and Lucy Walker.

The Album


In 2009, an online album of key songs from the show was released, sung by great West End singers including Daniel Boys, Sharon D Clarke, Zubin Varla, Zoe Martlew, Ricardo Afonso and Oliver Tompsett.


The album was produced by Neil Brock with orchestrations by Tom Deering.  It was engineered by Rupert Coulson.

"If I'd known it would be so good, I'd have written a better book."


Sir Terry Pratchett

"The songs are excellent, witty, melodic... This is clearly a show with a future..."


Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph

Shaun McKenna & Leighton James House

Video of the album


We Are Not Alone What Are We Waiting For? groupphoto group shot img024 pratch strings ALBUMCOVER10

Leighton James House,

Sharon D Clarke, Terry Pratchett,

Kerry Ellis, Shaun McKenna, Daniel Boys